Q & A with Miles Petzer

We chatted with Miles Petzer, the villain of Ballade vir ‘n Enkeling about his experience on set, how he prepared for his role, and how he coped with the Afrikaans dialogue. Read our Ballade review here: https://sbamtheatreblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/ballade-vir-n-enkeling-a-review/

Q1: How did you find playing a “baddie”?

Well it was really horrible. It was really difficult because Gert is so different to me. He’s like the polar opposite of me. It was hard getting into the mindset but it was really rewarding.

Q2: What did you do to prepare for the part?

I only had one read-through, so from then I tried my best not to focus on other people’s lines, but to only focus on my lines. I tried to view the character through his eyes and ask myself how I would play it if I was in that situation. I also cut out all external influences so I could hang onto the character. So I didn’t chat between takes and I didn’t hang out with the cast on set. I wanted to take him seriously.

Q3: What was your favourite part of the shoot?

My favourite part of the shoot was when we were doing a scene that I had to punch Edwin in the stomach and I went a bit far and punched his belt and cut my hand. It was okay they bandaged it up but then Edwin turned around and said, “You thought you cut your hand on my belt, but you actually cut your hand on my abs.” So I enjoyed that.

Q4: How did you cope with the Afrikaans?

Well I’m not Afrikaans at all. So the director was really great and he changed some lines that weren’t quite sitting right in my mouth. And then repetition. I just went over the lines over and over to get the accent right. My mom helped because she is Afrikaans. Improv was hard though because the English accent came through.

Q5: What are you busy with at the moment?

I’m busy with a Shakespeare with The Framework company. We’re doing Hamlet. And I’ve been cast in Oliver! the musical.

Read our Q & A with Armand Aucamp, star of Ballade vir ‘n Enkeling here: https://sbamtheatreblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/22/q-a-with-armand-aucamp/

2 thoughts on “Q & A with Miles Petzer

Leave a Reply

