Faeron Wheeler’s F Creations launches this month

SBAM actress, Faeron Wheeler has started her own production company, and their first production, The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged), opens on 8 March. We chatted to Faeron about her exciting plunge into the producing world.

cwws-galloway-banner

Q1: What inspired your new venture?

F Creations has been a long time coming. I’ve wanted to start a production company for as long as I can remember and the opportunity finally presented itself. The timing was right, the people were right and it just happened organically.

The idea behind F Creations is to have a banner for creative collaborations. I don’t want to put a limit on the type of artistic expression I want to produce. The key to the idea though is collaboration. I’ve started with a project that has been workshopped by the cast and couldn’t happen without complete trust and understanding between those of us on stage and the crew working backstage. We also each bring a unique set of skills to the party, meaning that we’ve all been able to contribute equally to the show.

Q2: Tell us about your first project, The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged).

At the risk of sounding a bit like Trump, it’s a great production, it really is. Written by the Reduced Shakespeare Company, this show is a very clever look at the Bard and his plays. We actually cover all 37 plays in two hours (including an interval). It’s only three actors on stage and we each take on our fair share of big characters. In fact, I get to play Othello, Macbeth and Hamlet during the show, along with several other characters.

This is the second time we’re performing Complete Works. It was this time last year that we first took to the stage in our “Shakespearean” garb. After incredible feedback from the audience and reviewers, as well as a few awards, we decided to do it again in 2017. This time it’s under the banner of F Creations.

Q3: What have you learnt so far from the F Creations experience?

Firstly, it’s confirmed my theory that nobody ever actually has things figured out! I always thought that I would start my production company when I’m older and wiser and I know what I’m doing. The truth is, you just have to go out there and make things happen. You may never feel like you know what you’re doing 100%, but at least you’re trying and learning.

It’s been a fantastic journey so far and I have learnt so much about the theatre industry that I hadn’t seen before when I was only on stage. This time round, I feel like everything means so much more because it’s my name and my company’s name on the poster. I’m also very excited about the thought that this is the start of being able to create art that I want to create and to collaborate with new people on new and different projects.

Q4: What are some projects you look forward to working on in the future?

There are several ideas in the pipeline for original work, and I have two projects that I’m hoping will debut this year still. We are also planning to put on Complete Works again either later this year or early in 2018.

I’m always on the look out for new ideas. What draws me to a project is the enthusiasm and passion of the person talking about it. If someone has an idea for a play, performance, film, book, exhibition, but doesn’t know how to go about starting it or wants a partner to bounce ideas off, then I would love them to come to me. I don’t promise to have all the answers, but I want to find the solution with you. That sounds super cheesy, but it’s true. Sometimes all you need is another person to tell you that you aren’t completely insane and an idea can work.

To support Faeron in her first F Creations production, book here. The production runs 8-11 March at the Galloway Theatre.

Leave a Reply

